TNPL 2023: CSG vs SS Match 2 Fantasy Predictions

TNPL 2023 Match 2 CSG vs SS

Match Details & Overview

TNPL 2023 CSG vs SS Match 2 overview

It’s the second game of the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023. The defending champions (joint winners of TNPL 2022 with Lyca Kings) Chepauk Super Gillies will be taking on Salem Spartans which finished bottom last year. Chepauk has had a fantastic previous season and they would look to a winning start. Spartans had struggled too much and they needed introspection to be watchful and plan their things accordingly.

Pitch Report

It’s a fresh wicket and expect some runs as we saw in the first match. The Lyca Kings posted a total of 179 runs. Although captains would want to bowl first here the teams could defend the total with accuracy in their bowling lines and lengths.

CSG vs SS Match 2 Preview

TNPL 2023 CSG vs SS preview

Team Salem Spartans

They had a forgetful last year which saw them at the bottom of the table. They couldn’t tick the right boxes throughout the season since they won just one game in the tournament. This year they have made several changes in the squad and would hope to turn things around. Kaushik Gandhi is going to lead the team. He is among the best batters. The 19-year-old Sunny Sandhu is a go-to bowler and had a terrific last season. He can also play some fine little cameos at the back end of the innings.

Gandhi could open the innings with S Abhishek. R Kavin can handle the middle order and absorb some pressure to score runs in this crucial phase. S Aravind and Muhammed Adnan Khan could also chip in with vital contributions. Maan Bafna is expected to score some runs if the top and middle order fails. They need early breakthroughs from Ganesh Moorthi and Ravi Karthikeyan. They have to work as a team if they want to fight in this contest.

Team Chepauk Super Gillies

They were the joint winners of the TNPL 2022 and one of the finest sides of the last season having won 5 out of 7 matches. They would be pleased with their opposition’s form and want to start off the campaign with a huge win. They are one of the best batting sides followed by their dependable middle order and a good bowling unit. N Jagadeesan who played a few matches for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2023, would want a positive start of the tournament. Baba Aparajith might lead the team.

He and Santosh Shiv would open the innings. The middle order consists of P Ranjan Paul, Uthirasamy Sasidev and Rajagopal Sathish who can add some valuable runs. The experience of Baba Aparajith can come into play lower down the order along with Sanjay Yadav and Harish Kumar.

Rahil Shah and Ramalingam Rohit can bowl fiery spells and they would want to strike early and get some wickets. M Silambarasan, Sanjay Yadav and Harish Kumar could add a tally of wickets for the team.

Head-to-head records

Chepauk has got stiff competition from Spartans when they met each other. However, in the last 5 matches, things have been changed. Chepauk won 4 while the Spartans won just one match.

Matches PlayedSS wonCSG wonTieNo Result

Key Players To Watch

TNPL 2023 CSG vs SS Key players

We are taking stats of the season 2022 to understand the performance of a player.

Team Salem Spartans

S Rate
K Gandhi922625.1110.2
M Bafna718245.5107
S Sandhu886.1
A Tanwar9177

Team Chepauk Super Gillies

S Rate
U Sasidev920429.1132.4
N Jagadeesan918820.8118.9
S Yadav945290.4186.7
B Aparajith939656.5144.5
R Shah786.7


TNPL 2023 CSG vs SS squads

Salem Spartans

Kaushik Gandhi (captain), Amit Sathvik (wk), R Kavin, S Abishiek, Akash Sumra, S Aravind, N Selva Kumaran, Sunny Sandhu, Abhishek Tanwar, Maan Bafna, M Ganesh Moorthi, J Gowri Sankar, Muhammad Adnan Khan, Prasanth Rajesh, Sachin Rathi, Ravi Karthikeyan, RS Mokit Hariharan, VRS Guru Kedarnath, RS Jaganath Sinivas

 Chepauk Super Gillies

Baba Aparajith (captain), N Jagadeesan (wk), Pradosh Ranjan Paul (wk), Rajagopal Sathish, Rahil Shah, S Harish Kumar, B Iyappan, M Viju Arul, M Silambarasan, R Sibi, TD Lokesh Raj, S Madhan Kumar, Rocky Bhasker, Ramalingam Rohit, Uthirasamy Sasidev, Sanjay Yadav, S Santosh Shiv

CSG vs SS Match 2 Fantasy Predictions

Salem Spartans

  • Maan Bafna did well last year and on this ground, he had a decent record. He has scored 86 runs in 3 innings at an average of 86 and a strike rate of around 116. He was not out in 2 innings. 
  • Abhishek Tanwar who was the leading taker in the last season had done a terrific job with the ball here. He has taken 9 wickets in 5 innings with an economy of just 6. He could be a vital pick in this contest.
  • M Ganesh Moorthi has picked up 2 wickets in 2 innings with an economy of 7.5. 
  • The skipper Kaushik Gandhi had a fine season last year. Therefore, he would be looking for another good season. 

 Chepauk Super Gillies

  • The skipper Baba Aparajith is leading from the front here. He has scored 199 runs in 3 innings at an average of around 100 and a strike rate of above 155. He could give a solid start to the Chepauk innings at the top order.
  • The superstar all-rounder Sanjay Yadav has a wonderful record here. He has hit 165 runs in 3 innings at an average of 82.5 and a strike rate of above 190. He could also pick some crucial wickets and therefore he is the best in the all-rounder section.
  • The wicketkeeper N Jagadeesan had a decent outing with the bat here. He has scored 108 runs in 3 innings at an average of 36 and a strike rate of close to 120. He would want to be aggressive at the top.
  • Rocky Bhaskar might be a good pick here as he has taken 2 wickets in an innings.

Predicted Playing XI

TNPL 2023 CSG vs SS Predicted Playing XI

Salem Spartans

Kaushik Gandhi (captain), R Kavin (wk), S Abishiek, S Aravind, Muhammed Adnan Khan, Maan Bafna, RS Mokit Hariharan, M Ganesh Moorthi, Ravi Karthikeyan, Sunny Sandhu, Abhishek Tanwar

Chepauk Super Gillies

N Jagadeesan (wk), Baba Aparajith (captain), Uthirasamy Sasidev,, Rajagopal Sathish, Sanjay Yadav, S Santosh Shiv, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, S Harish Kumar, M Silambarasan, Rahil Shah, Ramalingam Rohit 

Fantasy Playing XI

TNPL 2023 CSG vs SS Fantay Playing XI

Based on the stats above, here is the winning fantasy team.

  • Wicketkeepers:  N Jagadeesan
  • Batters:  Maan Bafna, S Abhishek, Kaushik Gandhi, Uthirasamy Sasidev, Sanjay Yadav
  • All-Rounders: Baba Aparajith, S Harish Kumar, 
  • Bowlers: Sunny Sandhu, Abhishek Tanwar, M Silambarasan
  • Captain: Sanjay Yadav / Abhishek Tanwar
  • Vice-captain: Baba Aparajith / Sunny Sandhu


Since the players have been reshuffled this year so there might be some unexpected results that we can see here. Chepauk is coming into this contest as favourites but things can go another way. The Spartans need to work on their batting department while bowling looks much better this time. Therefore, we have an exciting contest that both sports fans and cricket bettors will enjoy on our hands.

Similar Posts